MCEL People

Directors: Ellen Vos and Monica Claes
Management team: Merijn Chamon, Pauline Melin, Stevi Kitsou, Matteo Bonelli, Valentina Golunova, Alex Soroiu

MCEL Members

Honorary scholars

Maja Brkan

Maja Brkan is judge at the EU General Court. She worked at Maastricht University as assistant and then associate professor between 2013 and 2014 and was a member of MCEL in that period.

  More information about Maja Brkan    

Paul Craig 

Paul Craig is Emeritus Professor of English Law, St John’s College, University of Oxford. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Maastricht University in 2014. 

  More information about Paul Craig        

Associate scholars

Merijn Chamon 

Merijn Chamon is Professor of EU Law at Vrije Universiteit Brussel and visiting professor at the College of Europe. He was a member of MCEL between 2019 and 2023 as Assistant and then Associate Professor of EU law.

  More information about Merijn Chamon   


Florin Coman-Kund 

Florin Coman-Kund is Assistant Professor in European Union Law at the Erasmus School of Law, University of Rotterdam. He completed his PhD dissertation at Maastricht University in 2016 and was a member of MCEL until then.

  More information about Florin Coman-Kund   


Mark Dawson

Mark Dawson is Professor for European Law and Governance at the Hertie School of Governance in Berlin. From 2009 to 2011 he was Assistant Professor at the Department of International and European Law at Maastricht and a member of MCEL.

  More information about Mark Dawson   


Paul Dermine

Paul Dermine is Professor of European Union Law at the Université Libre de Bruxelles. He completed his PhD research at UM in 2020 and was a member of MCEL until then.

  More information about Paul Dermine   


Diane Fromage

Diane Fromage is Professor of European Law at the University of Salzburg. She was assistant professor of EU law at Maastricht University between 2016 and 2020 and a member of MCEL in that in period.

  More information about Diane Fromage   


Francesca Galli

Francesca Galli is Visiting Fellow at the Robert Schuman Centre of the European University Institute and Head of Unit at Italian Ministry of University and Research. She worked at UM and was a member of MCEL between 2014 and 2017.

  More information about Francesca Galli   


Kathrin Hamenstadt

Kathrin Hamenstädt is Assistant Professor at the Institute for History at the University of Leiden. She worked at UM as a PhD researcher and was a member of MCEL between 2010 and 2014.

  More information about Kathrin Hamenstadt   


Elise Muir

Elise Muir is Professor of EU law at the Institute for European Law, KU Leuven. She worked at UM as assistant and associate professor until 2018.

  More information about Elise Muir   


Thu Nguyen

Thu Nguyen is Policy Fellow for EU Institutions and Democracy at the Jacques Delors Centre. She worked at UM and was a member of MCEL between 2013 and 2020.

More information about Thu Nguyen    


Evangelia Psychogiopoulou

Evangelia Psychogiopoulou is Senior Research Fellow at the Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy, Greece. She worked at UM and was a MCEL member between 2014 and 2016.

More information about Evangelia Psychogiopoulou    


Nikos Skoutaris

Nikos Skoutaris is Associate Professor in European Union Law at the School of Law of the University of West Anglia. He was a member of MCEL and assistant professor of EU law at UM between 2010 and 2012.

 More information about Nikos Skoutaris  


Maartje de Visser 

Maartje de Visser is Associate Professor of Law at School of Law, Singapore Management University. She worked as assistant professor at UM and was a MCEL member in 2010-2013.

  More information about Maartje de Visser  


Annalisa Volpato

Annalisa Volpato is Assistant Professor at Università degli Studi di Padova. She obtained a double PhD in EU law at Maastricht University and Università degli Studi di Padova and was a member of MCEL until 2023.

 More information about Annalisa Volpato        


Maria Weimer

Maria Weimer is associate professor of EU law and regulation at the Law Faculty of the University of Amsterdam. She worked as a post-doctoral researcher and lecturer at UM and was a MCEL member between 2011 and 2013).

 More information about Maria Weimer  

Visiting scholars and PhD researchers

Academic year 2023-2024

Livia Baldinelli

Livia Baldinelli is PhD student in Analysis and Management of Cultural Heritage at IMT School for Advanced Studies.

  More information about Livia Baldinelli  


Giulio Rivellini 

Giulio Rivellini is PhD student in Law and Business at LUISS Guido Carli.

  More information about Giulio Rivellini  


Emmalucia Virardi 

Emmalucia Virardi is PhD student in Law at Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies.

  More information about Emmalucia Virardi  


Ketevan Vardosanidze

Ketevan Vardosanidze is PhD student at Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University.

  More information about Ketevan Vardosanidze  


Academic year 2022-2023

Ylenia Maria Citino

Ylenia Maria Citino is Post-Doctoral Research Fellow at the Department of Political Sciences (DISP) in Luiss Guido Carli University and Research Member of the Center of Parliamentary Studies (CESP) in Rome.

  More information about Ylenia Maria Citino  


Francesco Liguori

Francesco Liguori is PhD candidate at the Sapienza University of Rome.

  More information about Francesco Liguori  


Nicola Bergamaschi

Nicola Bergamaschi is PhD student at the University of Bologna.

  More information about Nicola Bergamaschi  


Andrea Conzutti

Andrea Conzutti is PhD Candidate in Constitutional Law at the Universities of Trieste and Udine in Belgium.

  More information about Nicola Bergamaschi  


Maria Kalogirou

Maria Kalogirou is PhD Candidate at the University Paris Nanterre.

  More information about Maria Kalogirou  


Lisette Mustert

Lisette Mustert is PhD candidate at the University of Luxembourg.

  More information about Lisette Mustert  


Academic year 2021-2022

Nuno Matos

Nuno Albuquerque Matos is PhD candidate at the Global School of Law of Universidade Católica Portuguesa in Lisbon.

  More information about Nuno Albuquerque Matos  


Robin Gadbled

Robin Gadbled is Coordinator of research activities at the Institute for European Law at KU Leuven, as well as a Teaching Fellow for the Europeaum Scholars Programme (coordinated by Oxford University). 

  More information about Robin Gadbled  


Elsa Fernando Gonzalo

Elsa Fernando Gonzalo is PhD candidate at the University of Salamanca. 

  More information about Elsa Fernando Gonzalo  

"My research stay in MCEL was fantastic. The international environment of MCEL and the availability of the staff of Maastricht University were incredibly good. It offers a perfect scenario to do a research stay in this institution. Also, the professors and colleagues were always available to discuss questions of my research topic. I really recommend it!" David Gutiérrez

Interested in becoming a visiting scholar or a PhD researcher at MCEL? Learn how you can join us.

Student trainees

Would you like to become a student trainee at MCEL? Learn how you can join us.