Voorplein Hof van tilly

A department contributes to the preparation and implementation of teaching and research. The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is made up out of five research departments:

 Department of History
 Department of Literature & Art
 Department of Society Studies
 Department of Political Science
 Department of Philosophy

 List of  FASoS Professors and their chairs

Faculty Office

The Office of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences supports both the primary tasks (i.e. education and research) and the administrative processes. The office is led by a managing director (Dr. C. Streefland).


Educational Programme Committees (PC)

PC Bachelor Arts and Culture

  • Chair: P. Peters
  • Academic staff: M. Reithler, P. Stephenson
  • Students: Pragya Jhingran, Melisa Delphia, Valerie Wuestinger

PC Bachelor European Studies

  • Chair: G. Noutcheva
  • Academic staff:  A. Nastase, D. Meacham
  • Students: Michele Dalla Rosa, Agatha Bourdarias, Daniel Edwards

PC Bachelor Digital Society

  • Chair: A. Hommels
  • Academic staff: K. Gabriels
  • Students: Anne-Sophie Oppor,
    Marjorie Platero

Graduate PC Europe (and the Globalising World)

  • Chair: E. Versluis
  • Academic staff: A. Sierp, A. Dandashly, 
    E. Fourie
  • Student RMES: Constanza Marcellino
  • Student ES: Alexander Gieseking
  • Student EPA: Simon Souren
  • Student GDS: Orjana Koka

Graduate PC Arts and Culture

  • Chair: M. Stoffers
  • Academic staff: B. Rulof, M. Meissner
  • Students ALS/PS: Lily Niemi,
    Stephanie Ifill
  • Students AH/KCE: Zoe Zanello

Graduate PC Media, Technology & Innovation

  • Academic staff and chair: I. Kamphof


  • Members: C. Mody, J. Lachmund

  • Student CAST: Cassy Juhasz

  • Student ESST: Kristina Korshunova

  • Student Media Studies, Digital Cultures: Anna Bashuk

Organisational chart

Organogram FASoS 2019