Prof Dr Sally Wyatt, Ph.D. (S.M.E.)

PhD supervision 

- Cecilia Schenetti, Maastricht University, provisional title: EU soft borders in Africa. How migration campaigns affect Senegalese youth’s migration imaginaries and sense of social justice (expected completion 2024) (co-promoter: Valentina Mazzucato)

- Kathleen Gregory, Maastricht University, Findable and reusable? Data discovery practices in research (awarded March 2021, cum laude) (funded by NWO Creative Industries Programme) (co-promoters: Andrea Scharnhorst & Paul Groth)

- Anna Bon, Intervention or Collaboration? Redesigning Information and Communication Technologies for Development. Maastricht University, (awarded December 2020) (co-promoter: Hans Akkermans)

· Claudia Egher, Maastricht University, provisional title: Mental Health Expertise Online: The enactment of expertise on major depression and bipolar disorder on online platforms in English and French (awarded December 2019) (recipient of NWO award for ‘PhDs in the humanities’, 2014) (co-promoter: Tamar Sharon)

· Rafael Bienia, Maastricht University, provisional title: Role-playing games and cultural citizenship (awarded April 2016) (co-promoter: Karin Wenz) (funded by NWO)

·         Jess Bier, Maastricht University, provisional title: Mapping Israel, Mapping Palestine: Space and Materiality in Digital Cartography (awarded April 2014) (co-promoter: Bas van Heur) (recipient of ERC starter grant)

·         Matthijs Kouw, Maastricht University, provisional title: Simulation and the vulnerability of technological culture (awarded December 2012) (co-promoter: Wiebe Bijker)

·         Niels van Doorn, ASCoR, UvA, Digital Spaces, Material Traces. Investigating the performance of gender, sexuality, and embodiment on internet platforms that feature user-generated content (awarded February 2010) (promoter: Liesbet van Zoonen) (recipient of NWO Rubicon Award and ERC Starter grant)

·         Vanessa Dirksen, FEE, UvA, Social imaginaries of technology and work. A Connective ethnography (awarded September 2007) (promoter: Rik Maes)

·         Tamara Witschge, ASCoR, UvA, In/difference online: The issue of immigration on the Internet (awarded May 2007) (promoter: Kees Brants)

·         Caroline Nevejan, ASCoR, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Presence and the design of trust (awarded April 2007) (promoter: Cees Hamelink)

·         Helen Kennedy, School of Media and Cultural Studies, University of East London, Digits and subjects: autobiographies of multimedia and identity (awarded 2003) (co-supervisor: Nod Miller)

Maastricht University (current)

· Supervision of CAST and ESST masters’ dissertations (2007-cont.)


Previous Teaching

Netherlands Graduate Research School for Science, Technology and Modern Culture (WTMC) (2005-10) (see

plus lots of teaching about the internet, information society, etc at University of Amsterdam (1999-2006); University of East London (1989-1999) and Universities of Brighton & Sussex before that.