Professor Pieter Jan Kuijper wins first Maastricht Prize for International Law

Professor Kuijper will be awarded the first Maastricht Prize for International Law on Thursday, 8 December 2016. The ceremony will take place at the Municipality of Maastricht (Raadzaal, Mosae Forum 10, Maastricht) at 13.30 hours.

Pieter Jan Kuijper

Kuijper has a long and distinguished career in international and European law, in particular exploring the connections between these two fields. During his career he has worked both in academia and for international organizations, shifting between both. This wealth of experience has enabled him to bring insights from his legal work in the EU and WTO to his academic pursuits. Thus he is an educator and academic whose career and publications demonstrate a remarkable ability to combine both the practical legal experience of a civil servant with the legal reflection of an academic. Click here for more detailed information about prof. Kuijper.

These interests, his work in the field of European law as well as international trade law and his academic publications were the reason for the jury of the Maastricht Prize to award the first prize to professor Pieter Jan Kuijper.

The Maastricht Prize for International Law

Maastricht University and its Faculty of Law, in cooperation with the municipality of Maastricht, award this prize for the first time on 8 December 2016. The Maastricht Prize for International Law is the successor of the Hague Prize for International Law. The prize, awarded every 5 years, aims at senior academics and is granted for an outstanding contribution in either public or private international law. The ceremony will be hosted by the Municipality of Maastricht and among the speakers will be Prof. Liesbeth Lijnzaad (professor of Practice of International Law UM), Prof. Cees Flinterman (professor of International and European Law UM), Mrs. mr. Annemarie Penn-te Strake (mayor of the city of Maastricht), Prof. dr. Rianne Letschert (Rector Magnificus of Maastricht University) and Prof. dr. Hildegard Schneider (dean of the UM Faculty of Law).

Please visit our website for more information on the programme and to register.



Also read