8 Dec 2016
Maastricht Prize

Maastricht Prize for International Law

Prizegiving ceremony on Thursday, 8th December, 13:30h

(Gemeente Maastricht, Raadzaal, Mosae Forum 10)


>> Consult the programme


>> Read about the prize winner 2016

General Information Maastricht Prize of International Law

The Faculty of Law of Maastricht University has taken over The Hague Prize for International Law. Thereby, the prize is renamed the Maastricht Prize for International Law. With a view to continuing the prize, the university will collaborate with the municipality of Maastricht. The prize will be placed under the Limburg University Fund / SWOL, a foundation connected to Maastricht University.

The prize will consist of two separate prizes. The main prize will aim at senior academics and awarded for an outstanding contribution in either public or private international law. This prize will be awarded every five years. The prize will carry a financial award of 10,000 Euros.

In those years when the main prize is not awarded, the junior prize will be awarded to promising younger academics in the field of human rights. This prize will carry a financial award of 3,000 Euros.

The prize will be awarded in Maastricht.

The main prize will be awarded for the first time on 8 December 2016; the junior prize in 2018.