Hylke Dijkstra (H.)

Prof. Dr. Hylke Dijkstra is Full Professor of International Security and Cooperation (Hoogleraar in Internationale Veiligheid en Samenwerking) at Maastricht University, The Netherlands. He serves as the Director of the Research Programme Politics and Culture in Europe. He is also the Principal Investigator of an ERC research project on the decline and death of international organizations. He is furthermore the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Contemporary Security Policy and work-package leader in the Horizon 2020-funded JOINT project.

Hylke Dijkstra is a member of the Standing Committee on European Integration of the Advisory Council on International Affairs (Adviesraad Internationale Vraagstukken), the Board of the Dutch Political Science Association, the Advisory Council of the Netherlands Institute of Governance, and the Steering Committee of the OSCE Network of Academic Institutions.

Hylke Dijkstra holds a PhD in Political Science (cum laude) from Maastricht. He read Contemporary European Studies (MPhil) in Cambridge. He was previously a Marie Curie Fellow at the University of Oxford, where he was also affiliated to Nuffield College. He was also work-package leader in the Horizon 2020-funded EU-CIVCAP project, Programme Director of the MA in European Studies, and board member of the Maastricht University Brussels Campus.

Hylke Dijkstra has published extensively on international organizations, including the European Union, NATO and the United Nations, in Cooperation and Conflict, European Journal of International RelationsGlobal Governance, Global PolicyInternational Peacekeeping, Journal of Common Market StudiesJournal of European IntegrationJournal of European Public Policy and The Review of International Organizations. He is author of International Organization (with Rittberger/Zangl/Kruck) (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019), International Organizations and Military Affairs (Routledge, 2016) and Policy-Making in EU Security and Defense (Palgrave Macmillan, 2013).

Hylke Dijkstra is the winner of the 2008 prize for best article in European Foreign Affairs Review for scholars under the age of thirty-five. For his dissertation, he received the Otto von der Gablentz Academic Prize and the G.A. Van Poelje Prize.