Inaugural Maastricht Consulates EU Law Prize awarded to Mariana Baptista

On 19 February 2024, the inaugural Maastricht Consulates EU Law Prize was awarded to the author of the most outstanding thesis on EU law written during the academic year 2022-2023 at the Faculty of Law of Maastricht University. 

The prize was awarded to Mariana Baptista for her thesis entitled 'The Practice of Temporary Loss of EU Citizenship: Questioning Renunciation Prior to Acquisition of Nationality'. Anca Sattler and Teresa Bouza Serrano received honourable mentions for their theses entitled “Privacy and Trade: Can the GDPR Cross-Border Data Transfer Requirements be Reconciled with EU’s GATS Commitments?” and “Is it possible for the High Representative to attain locus standi before the CJEU in order to defend his constitutional prerogatives in inter-institutional disputes?” respectively.

The prize was a collaboration between MCEL, the Faculty of Law of Maastricht University, and the Consuls from Limburg. Furthermore, three MCEL members formed part of the jury (Bruno De Witte, Fulvia Ristuccia, and Pauline Melin).

Also read