9 March 2017

Team Maastricht University through to international rounds of the Philip C. Jessup moot court competition

On 23 and 24 February, Maastricht University participated in the Dutch Qualifying Rounds of the 2017 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition in Amsterdam. The UM team, composed of Céline Fäh, Caitlin MacMillan, Hanna Moller and Diya Dilan reached the international qualification rounds which will take place in Washinton D.C. from 9-16 April 2017. The team is coached by Laura Visser, Jure Vidmar & Jennifer Sellin.


With great performances from the students and excellent teamwork, the team reached the finals after four rounds against Leiden University, the University of Amsterdam and Utrecht University. In a very tight final round the UM team beat Leiden University qualifying for the international rounds of the competition. Diya Dilan, in an outstanding performance representing the applicant, was awarded best oralist.