Angelique Palmen new member of the Supervisory Board

The Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (OCW) has appointed Angelique Palmen as a member of the UM Supervisory Board for a period of four years. The appointments of Supervisory Board chair Annelies van der Pauw and Supervisory Board member Jennifer Barnes have been extended for a period of four years.

Angelique Palmen is the founder and former director of EY Montesquieu, a leading consultancy in the field of Finance and Risk Management. She is also a five-time Gazelle winner (an entrepreneur award from the Financieel Dagblad) and in 2011 she was elected business woman of the year in the SME category. Angelique Palmen, who lives in Kerkrade, also has a broad network and is familiar with the Euregio, the Brightlands Campuses and the relationship with the Maastricht University Medical Center.

Angelique Palmen will also be a member of the Audit Committee as a member of the Supervisory Board. The Audit Committee supports the Supervisory Board in, among other things, the supervision of the internal risk management and control systems and the quality and reliability of the financial reporting.

Reappointments Supervisory Board

The Minister has also extended the appointments of Supervisory Board chair Annelies van der Pauw and Supervisory Board member Jennifer Barnes for a period of four years. As chair, Annelies van der Pauw, together with Supervisory Board member Alain Dupont, also forms part of the appointment advisory committee that advises the Supervisory Board in the event of a (re)appointment of a member of the Executive Board (CvB).

Jennifer Barnes has been reappointed on the recommendation of the University Council and therefore acts as a confidential counselor for the University Council within the Supervisory Board.

Both the Supervisory Board and the Executive Board look forward to continuing the pleasant cooperation with both members in the coming years.

About the Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board supervises the policy of the Executive Board and the general course of affairs within the university. In addition to its supervisory task, the Board plays an important role as a sounding board for and advisor to the Executive Board. The Supervisory Board is accountable to the Minister of Education, Culture and Science. The Supervisory Board currently consists of Annelies van der Pauw (chairman), Jennifer Barnes, Angelique Palmen, Alain Dupont and Hans de Groene.

The profile of the Supervisory Board is geared to the desired development and strategy of UM, in which the Strategic Programme, the Knowledge-As Limburg, the performance agreements and quality assurance are central. The composition of the Supervisory Board is such that there is sufficient diversity in terms of individual profiles, age, gender and socio-cultural and scientific background.

More information can be found on the page of the Supervisory Board.