Student Project Team

The Student Project Team (SPT) is a group of four students tasked with ensuring the university services are student-friendly. They work as a body under the Student Services Centre (SSC), advise university departments on their projects and organise their own projects and events.

Projects of the Student Project Team

The SPT designs, develops and contributes to UM projects, always with the student perspective in mind.

Projects run by the SPT:

  • Student Panel: during feedback sessions, students provide feedback on issues important to both students and the university, to ensure university services will be student friendly.
  • Social  Impact Prize: annual prize awarded by the SPT to a student project participating in the Maastricht University Challenge  (a competition that provides a platform for students and recent graduates of UM and Zuyd Hogeschool to showcase and develop their innovative ideas, related to societal and entrepreneurial issues).

Projects supported by the SPT:

  • Student Initiative Helpdesk: a central platform providing information needed to start and successfully run student initiatives, projects and associations in Maastricht.
  • Applicant Journey: redesigning the application process for prospective UM students.
  • Team Student Progression: improving the functions of the Student Portal.
  • Student Experience Survey: student surveys aimed at gathering student feedback on various topics.

Do you have a great idea to improve Maastricht University?

Participate in the Social Impact Prize!
Join the Student Panel!

Members of the Student Project Team

Members 2023/24

Okeeno Hamilton, team leader
Pavlina Papageorgiou, external representative
Laura Tardivo, treasurer
Leila Nickel, promotion coordinator

Previous members

  2022/23 2021/22 2020/21 2019/20 2018/19 2017/18
Team leader Okeeno Hamilton Yannah Winkler Sara Fornasiero Hector Rubin Arianna De Petris Thomas Devine
Vice team leader Laura Tardivo Otto Heijboer Lech Lipinski Laura Speth Jur Schilp Rob van der Horst
Treasurer Maksimilijan Boban Thandi Mutua Kornelija Zilionyte Sander Lemmens Jaimy van Dijk Karol Skalski
Promotion coordinator Mateusz Kubow Lilla Somogyvári Maria Zilincikova Dora Gozukara Loukia Hadjiyianni David Kaik


  2016/17 2015/16 2014/15 2013/14
Team leader Pleunie Simons Lucia Tetley Lucy van Dieijen Yvon Heijmans
Vice team leader Barbara Caron Szymon Czerny Lorenza de Domenico Thomas Schäfer
Treasurer Gisela Garrido Veron   Krzysztof Adam Górski Luka Delsing
Maximilian Timmerman Simone Maassen Elisa Jansen Céline Charles