10 Sep 14:30
- 18:00
MCEL opening academic year

The Precautionary Principle in EU Law and Practice


Please find the printable programme here.

14:30-14:45 Registration
14:45-15:00 Welcome by Bruno de Witte

Panel Discussion
Chair: Sabrina Röttger-Wirtz
- Ellen Vos and Kristel de Smedt: The Legal Dimensions of the Precautionary Principle: An Overview
- Marjan Peeters: Precautionary Principle, Climate Change, and the Role of the CJEU
- Geert van Calster: Innovation Priciple and its Relation to the Precautionary Principle

17:00 Reception


Prof. Dr. Bruno de Witte
Bruno de Witte is professor of European Union law at Maastricht University, and parttime professor at the European University Institute (EUI) in Florence. He is co-director of the Maastricht Centre for European Law.

Dr. Sabrina Röttger-Wirtz
Sabrina Röttger-Wirtz is Assistant Professor of EU Law at the Faculty of Law of Maastricht University.

Prof. Dr. Ellen Vos
Ellen Vos is Professor of European Union Law at the Law Faculty of Maastricht University. She is co-director of the Maastricht Centre for European Law of Maastricht University.

Dr. Kristel de Smedt
Kristel De Smedt is assistant professor, department of Foundations and Methods of Law.

Prof. Dr. Marjan Peeters
Marjan Peeters holds the position of Professor of Environmental Policy and Law (personal chair).

Prof. Dr. Geert van Calster
Geert van Calster is full professor (professor ordinarius) in the University of Leuven and Head of Leuven Law's department of European and international law. He is also senior fellow at Leuven's Centre for Global Governance Studies.