The department’s research is organised in three faculty programmes (human rights, European law and international economic law) which fall into the national research schools of Human Rights and Ius Commune. Several research projects carried out in the context of these programmes are either partly or fully funded by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) and the European Union.