• On March 4 the Supreme Court has decided that the 150-km radius criterion is in accordance with EU law, and is not discriminatory or an impediment of the free movement of workers.

  • Students or staff members here in Maastricht or in Brussels who experience any problems (logistical or otherwise) in connection with, or in the wake of, the attacks in Brussels can report to the Student Deans of Maastricht University. 

  • Placeholder

    Attacks Brussels

    The Executive Board of Maastricht University is deeply shocked by the attacks in Brussels. Hard on the heels of the tragic events in Paris, the heart of the European community has now become the target of horrific terror. On behalf of the entire academic community, our thoughts are with the victims...

  • A quartet of Finance in Motion staff members have introduced the basics of impact investing to students at a Dutch university, and they responded with pitches for a wide range of funds.

  • Mark Levels (ROA and GSBE) won a research grant in the highly competitive Open Research Area grant scheme, organized by NWO, ANR, JSPS, DFG and ESRC, to conduct a large cross-national research program on youth Not in Employment, Education and Training (NEETs).

  • On the 17th of March Professor Carl Figdor accepted the TEFAF Oncology Chair, a special professorship for scientists with an exceptional reputation in the field of cancer research. 

  • On March 15 2016, the FAIR Guiding Principles for scientific data management and stewardship were formally published in the Nature Publishing Group journal Scientific Data.

  • The Executive Board has appointed Anita Jansen as the new dean of the Faculty of Psychology and Neuroscience, effective as of 1 June 2016 for a period of four years. 

  • On 16 March 2016 ITEM and CBS have signed a covenant to strengthen the mutual cooperation between them.

  • Our European Law Moot Court team won the regional finals in Fribourg (CH) and is heading to Luxemburg to plead in front of the CJEU in April ! Congratulations to Eve Meurgey, Kati Wende, Lucile Fleuret, Jolien Timmermans as well as their coach Pauline Melin.