







EU Agencies in the Future Europe: Speakers Overview



James Calleja is Director of the European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training. He was appointed in October 2013. Prior to his appointment he served as Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education and Employment in Malta.



Thomas Christiansen is Professor of European Institutional Politics at Maastricht University. He is also part-time professor at the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies at the European University Institute and co-director of the Centre for European Research in Maastricht.



Deirdre Curtin is Professor of European law at the European University Institute. She is research leader of several innovative research projects embracing both law and political science, including Open Government in the European Union.



Luis de Eusebio Ramos is Deputy Executive Director Capabilities of Europol. He directly manages staff from ICT, HR, and finance. Prior to Europol, he was Executive Advisor to the General Director of the Spanish National Police.



Adam Farkas is the Executive Director of the European Banking Authority. He was appointed in March 2011. He is in charge of the management of the Authority and prepares the work of the Management Board. Prior to his appointment he served as Chairman of the Hungarian Financial Supervisory Authority.



Monique Goyens is Director General of the European Consumer Organisation. In this capacity, she is EU co-chair of the Transatlantic Consumer Dialogue, a network of EU and US consumer organisations. She also represents BEUC at Consumers International.



Minas Konstantinidis is a member of the Legal Service ('Institutions' Team) of the European Commission. Before joining the European Commission in 1996, he studied Law in Athens, European Law in Barcelona and worked as a lawyer in Athens.



Rianne Letschert is Rector of Maastricht University. Prior to her appointment, she was Professor of victimology and international law at Tilburg University, and director of the International Victimology Institute Tilburg.



Annemarie Penn-te Strake has been mayor of Maastricht since 2015. Prior to taking office, she also worked as a judge and a public prosecutor.



Graham Smith is a Member of Cabinet of the European Ombudsman. He is a senior advisor on access to documents, including data protection interface. He advises the European Ombudsman and Secretariat-General on complaint handling processes and outcomes.



Alberto Spagnolli is Head of the Executive Office Unit at the European Food Safety Authority. His Unit responds directly to the Authority's Executive Director, offering support on a wide range of issues. Prior to EFSA, he worked for 18 years for the European Commission.



Ellen Vos is Professor of European law at Maastricht University. She is also codirector of the Centre for European Research in Maastricht, and Coordinator of TARN, The Academic Research Network on the Agencification of EU Executive Governance.